Summer Bowling Competition | Action Medical Research

Summer Bowling Competition

Summer Bowling Competition 2015

Another fabulous bowling competition is over and what a fantastic day we all had.  A big thank you to all the competitors you raised a fabulous £2726!

Congratulations to the winning team & runners up! The winner of the Best Named Team was ‘Go Forth and Skip’ and winner of the Best Dressed category was ‘The Mad Hatters!’ Please click here to view a few snap shots of the day we had.

Thanks are due to many people: Chief Organisers Di and Keith Hanna for their Trojan work in coordinating the event and to Perry Orr for the excellent condition of the pitch and for all his help on the day, we are very grateful. 

A big thank you to the army of people that provided refreshments throughout the day – to Barbara Nicol and the Action Medical Research Hillsborough Committee, to our Northern Ireland Chair Pamela Ballentine, to Mary Taylor-Winter and Owen Scullion of Hilden Breweries.

A big thank you to everyone that provided us with items for the raffle and tombola we made a huge sum of money thanks to your kind generosity.

Many thanks also to Malone Men’s Bowling Club and President John Halliday for foregoing your day of bowls and for supporting us again this year.  Thanks also to the Ladies Bowling Club and President Rene McNamee for their generosity and support for our second year – and Carrie appreciates the help with the prize giving on the day!  And to Malone Golf Club for keeping everyone refreshed with a plenty ice!

And lastly thanks to everyone who took part whether in playing or joining us for a sausage, we look forward to seeing you all next year.  Book early to avoid disappointment!

Thank you for helping to make the 2015 Summer Bowling Competition such a success.

Carrie Benn

Malone Bowling Club
TBC 2016

Entry Fee: £40/team of four players

To enter contact: Di Hanna T 028 9066 0224 or E

Lunch, snacks, tea, coffee and bar facilities available. 

Group Start Times:

Each team will play 3 x 1 hour sessions alternately. The winner of The Harvey Townsend Trophy will be decided in a one end play off at approximately 5.00pm between the winners of group A and group B. There will also be a prize awarded for the best team name.

Group A: 10.00am, 12.20pm and 2.40pm
Group B: 11.10am, 1.30pm and 3.50pm

Help us spread the word