Who's who | Action Medical Research

Who's who

Action Medical Research has some very distinguished supporters who voluntarily give their business acumen, scientific prowess and public profile to help the charity achieve its aims.

Patron and Presidents


HRH The Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh KG KT OM GBE


Field Marshal The Lord Guthrie GCB LVO OBE DL

Vice Presidents

Patrick Brenan OBE FCA

Stephen May

The Duchess of Northumberland

Richard Price

Back to top


The trustees are responsible for the policies and strategies of Action Medical Research and give their medical, financial and business skills and expertise on a voluntary basis. The council of trustees meets four times a year and is supported by a number of advisory committees.


Phil Hodkinson

Phil was elected Chair in July 2014. He has been a trustee and member of the charity’s Investment and Audit Committee since January 2012, and brings a wealth of financial experience within commercial and charitable sectors.

Honorary Treasurer

Charles Jackson

Charles Jackson joined the council in October 2006, and is the Chair of the Investment and Audit Committee.


Esther Alderson

Trained as a doctor at St Mary’s Hospital in Paddington and worked, mostly in paediatrics, in a number of London hospitals before having children. Since then she has been involved in voluntary fundraising for a number of children's charities. Esther became a trustee in May 2012.

Luke Bordewich

Luke Bordewich became a trustee and member of the Investment and Audit Committee in January 2015. He is a Managing Director at Numis Securities, leading UK corporate adivser and stockbroker. He is also a keen volunteer fundraiser.

Professor Sarah Bray BA MPhil PhD

Professor in Developmental Biology at Cambridge University, Sarah joined the council in January 2012.

Professor David Edwards

David is Professor of Paediatrics and Neonatal Medicine at Kings College London and became a trustee in January 2016.

Professor Nigel Klein

Nigel is Professor of Infectious Disease and Immunology at University College London and is chair of our Scientific Advisory Panel. He became a trustee in January 2016.

Nick Peters

Nick Peters joined the trustees in September 2013 and is also a member of the charity’s Investment and Audit Committee. With an accountancy background, Nick currently works for Fidelity Worldwide Investments as a Portfolio Manager. He has participated in a number of sporting events in the past, including Action’s Race the Sun in 2012.

Val Remington-Hobbs

A long standing supporter of Action Medical Research Val Remington-Hobbs joined the council in January 2010. She brings a wealth of experience as a volunteer fundraiser and as County Chair, Suffolk, and Chair of Stowmarket Committee.

Back to top

Scientific Advisory Panel


Professor Nigel Klein BSc MBBS MRCP PhD FRCPCH

Professor and Consultant in Paediatric Infectious Diseases and Immunology at Great Ormond Street Children’s Hospital, London, and the Institute of Child Health, University College London


Professor Graeme Black  DPhil, FRCOphth

Professor of Genetics and Ophthalmology, Genomic Medicine, St Marys Hospital, University of Manchester

Professor Claire Bryant BSc PhD BVetMed

Professor of Innate Immunity, Department of Veterinary Medicine, The University of Cambridge

Professor Inderjeet Dokal MBChB, MD, FRCP, FRCPCH, FRCPath, FMedSci ‚Äč

Chair of Child Health, Honorary Consultant in Haematology, Blizard Institute, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Catherine Hawrylowicz  PhD

Professor of Immune Regulation in Allergic Diseases, Department of Respiratory Medicine and Allergy, Guy's Hospital,  King’s College London

Professor Mark Johnson PhD MRCP MRCOG

Professor of Obstetrics, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, Imperial College London

Professor Fenella Kirkham MB BChir MD FRCPCH

Professor of Paediatric Neurology, Institute of Child Health, Neuroscience Unit, University College London


Paediatric Medicine, Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore

Professor Scott Nelson PhD MRCOG

Muirhead Professor of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Glasgow Royal Infirmary, Glasgow

Professor David Rowitch MD PhD ScD

Professor and Head of Paediatrics, Department of Paediatrics, University of Cambridge

Dr Julie Stebbins DPhil CSci SRCS

Clinical Scientist and Operational Lead, Oxford Gait Laboratory, Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Michael Taggart BSc PhD FSB

Chair of Reproductive Sciences, Institute of Genetic Medicine, Newcastle University

Professor Dieter Wolke PhD Dipl-Psych CPsychol AFBPsS

Professor of Developmental Psychology and Individual Differences, Department of Psychology, The University of Warwick

Back to top

Management Team

Chief Executive: Julie Buckler

Director of Research: Dr Tracy Swinfield

Director of Finance, IT and Operations/ Company Secretary: Martin Richardson

Director of Fundraising: Jenny Edwards

Director of Communications: Sarah Moss

Back to top

Help us spread the word